Where do the Boks come from?

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer named his 30-man squad for the upcoming Castle Rugby Championship on Saturday. School Sports News takes a closer look at what school the Boks went to.

Heyneke Meyer stuck with his winning formula from the England test series and included only two new caps in his Rugby Championship squad (formerly Tri-Nations). Siya Kolisi and Patrick Cilliers are the new additions to the team which also welcomes back Andries Bekker from injury.

The squad is heavily dominated by Grey College old boys, with no less than six of the the 30 mans squad having graduated from the rugby factory of Bloemfontein. Grey College have produced the most Springboks since 1906, with 38, but they are second in the overall rankings with 39, trailing Paul Roos Gymnasium who have had 50 Boks.

Speaking of Paul Roos, they have the second most players in the Bok squad with three old boys in the mix, now that the lanky Andries Bekker has returned from injury to join Francois Hougaard and Juandre Kruger.

Interestingly, Michaelhouse, had not produced a single Springbok up until 2010, when a baby-faced Patrick Lambie took to the field against Ireland. Fast forward to 2012 and they now have a second Bok to lay claim to, oddly also named Pat. Former West House prefect Patric Cilliers will join one of his juniors from school days in the green and gold and will no doubt have the whole of the Natal Midlands punching the air with delight if and when he makes his debut.

Grey High School (PE) and Michaelhouse lay claim to the two new additions to the Bok squad for the Rugby Championship

Grey High School in Port Elizabeth, might not have as many Boks as their brothers up in Bloemfontein, but with the inclusion of Siya Kolisi for the Rugby Championship, they take their overall tally up to 10 Springbok rugby players. This allows them to leapfrog Maritzburg College into ninth place on the list of schools with the most Springboks of all time. Both the Grey High boys in the squad (Kolisi and JJ Engelbrecht) are uncapped, but are more than likely to don the green and gold of their country at some stage during the grueling six Test series.

School and year of matriculation:

Grey College (Bloemfontein):

Bismarck du Plessis – 2002

Jannie du Plessis – 2000

Ruan Pienaar – 2002

Frans Steyn – 2005

Adriaan Strauss – 2003

Flip van der Merwe – 2003

Paul Roos Gymnasium (Stellenbosch):

Andries Bekker – 2001

Francois Hougaard – 2006

Juandre Kruger – 2003

Affies (Pretoria):

Dean Greyling – 2004

Pierre Spies – 2003

Grey High School (Port Elizabeth):

JJ Engelbrecht – 2007

Siya Kolisi – 2009

Michaelhouse (Nottingham Road, KZN):

Patrick Lambie – 2008

Patrick Cilliers – 2005

Hoërskool Monument (Krugersdorp):

Willem Alberts – 2002

Dale College (King Williams Town):

Keegan Daniel – 2003

Paarl Gimnasium (Paarl):

Jean de Villiers – 1999

Port Natal Skool (Durban):

Marcell Coetzee – 2009

Hugenote High School (Wellington):

Juan de Jong – 2006

Tygerberg Hoërskool (Cape Town):

Eben Etzebeth – 2009

King Edward VII School (Johannesburg):

Bryan Habana – 2001

Florida High School (Johannesburg):

Elton Jantjies – 2008

PW Botha College (George):

Zane Kirchner – 2001

Peterhouse (Zimbabwe):

Tendai ‘Beast’ Mtawarira – 2003

Maria Louw High School (Queenstown):

Lwazi Mvovo – 2004

HTS Daniel Pienaar (Uitenhague):

Jacques Potgieter – 2004

Pretoria Boys High School (Pretoria):

Chilliboy Ralepelle – 2004

Sand du Plessis (Bloemfontein):

Morne Steyn – 2002

HTS Vereeniging (Vereeniging):

Jano Vermaak – 2003


By Warwick Austin



Leave a Reply

Read previous post:
Grey win high-scoring derby

Grey High School from Port Elizabeth defeated their Western Suburb foes Framesby 35-29 on Saturday on a muddy Philip Field in...